How much does a virtual data room cost?
Virtual data room pricing falls into three models, and they produce wildly different bills for the same deal. In short: per-page and per-GB pricing scale with your document set and are hard to predict, while flat-rate pricing is fixed. ShareAndGo is flat NZD from a free trial, with no per-page, per-GB or per-recipient fees.
Virtual data room cost calculator
Estimate a per-page VDR versus ShareAndGo's flat NZD pricing. Adjust the sliders for your deal.
Typical per-page VDR
NZ$8,500
at an assumed ~NZ$0.85/page, 10,000 pages
ShareAndGo Professional
NZ$354
flat NZ$59/mo × 6 months, unlimited pages
Estimated saving with ShareAndGo: NZ$8,146
Indicative only. Per-page rates vary by provider; many VDRs are quote-led. ShareAndGo Business (NZ$99/mo) adds unlimited rooms and 250 GB.
What each provider actually publishes
We read every major provider’s own pricing page on 8 September 2026. The most useful finding is not a price. It is that most of them will not show you one.
| Provider | Entry data room | Approx. NZD | Pricing shown publicly? |
|---|---|---|---|
| ShareAndGo | NZ$99/mo | NZ$99 | Yes, with a free trial |
| Onehub | $300–375/mo, its page does not state the currency | - | Yes |
| CapLinked | $399/mo, its page does not state the currency | - | Yes |
| Ansarada | Price list by data allowance and term | A$329 | Yes, a published price list |
| iDeals | Quote only | - | No |
| Firmex | Quote only | - | No |
| Datasite | No pricing page | - | No |
| Intralinks | Not published | - | No |
Read 8 September 2026 and re-checked 29 October 2026 from each provider’s own pricing page, and Ansarada’s on 31 October 2026. Onehub and CapLinked show prices in dollars, and their pages do not state the currency, so we have not converted them. Entry tiers differ in what they include: CapLinked’s Team plan includes 5 GB of storage, while Onehub’s Data Room Edition lists unlimited storage.
Why this matters more than the numbers. If you are running an Inland Revenue audit that starts in three weeks, you cannot budget for something you have to book a call to price. Five of the seven providers above require exactly that. It is a reasonable model for an investment bank with a deal team who expect to negotiate. It is a poor one for everybody else.
The three VDR pricing models
Per-page. Long the default for investment-bank M&A. You pay roughly AU$0.40–AU$1.00 per page, so a 10,000-page deal can cost several thousand dollars. Predictable only if you know your exact page count in advance, which you rarely do.
Per-GB / storage tiers. A small storage allowance is included, then overage fees apply. Costs creep as documents (especially scanned PDFs) accumulate, and the surprise usually lands mid-deal.
Flat-rate. A fixed monthly fee regardless of pages, storage (within the plan) or recipients. This is what ShareAndGo uses: NZ$29 / NZ$59 / NZ$99 per month. No per-page, no per-GB overage, and external recipients are free on every paid plan.
What drives virtual data room cost
- Document volume: the main driver under per-page/per-GB models; irrelevant under a flat plan.
- Number of users / recipients: many VDRs charge per seat or per external user; ShareAndGo external recipients are free on every paid plan.
- Deal length: how many months the room stays open.
- Features: AI search, OCR, PII detection and Q&A are often enterprise add-ons elsewhere; included on ShareAndGo paid plans.
Virtual data room cost FAQs
How much does a virtual data room cost?
It varies enormously by pricing model. Traditional per-page VDRs charge roughly AU$0.40–AU$1.00 per page, so a 10,000-page deal can run into thousands of dollars. Per-GB plans add overage fees once you exceed a small included allowance. Flat-rate VDRs like ShareAndGo charge a fixed monthly fee (NZ$29, NZ$59 or NZ$99/month, after a 14-day free trial) with no per-page, per-GB or per-recipient charges.
Why is per-page VDR pricing so expensive?
Per-page billing was designed for large investment-bank M&A deals with huge document sets and short timelines, where the buyer absorbs the cost. For an SMB or advisory firm running a smaller deal, an audit or a raise, per-page pricing means the bill scales with your document count and is hard to predict. A flat plan removes that uncertainty.
Is there a free virtual data room?
ShareAndGo has a 14-day free trial, with no credit card. External recipients are free on every paid plan.
What is included in ShareAndGo's flat price?
Every plan includes Australian data residency (Sydney), a tamper-evident audit trail, the inline no-download viewer with watermarking, email-verified guest access, AI OCR, auto-categorisation and PII detection, and a full room export. AI document search, the data room insights dashboard and NDA gating are included from the Professional plan upwards. External recipients are free on every paid plan, and there are no per-GB overage fees.
Do I pay per user or per recipient?
No. ShareAndGo plans include a set number of internal team members (seats), but the external parties you invite into a data room (buyers, investors, auditors, counterparties) are free on every paid plan, with no limit on how many.
Which virtual data room providers publish their prices?
Very few. As at October 2026, reading each provider's own pricing page: Datasite, Intralinks, Firmex and iDeals ask you to request a quote rather than showing a price, while Ansarada publishes a price list by data allowance and term. Onehub and CapLinked publish flat monthly rates, and their pages do not state the currency. ShareAndGo publishes flat NZD pricing including a free trial. If you want to know what a data room costs before speaking to a salesperson, that is the shortlist you are choosing from.
Why do most data room vendors hide their pricing?
Quote-led pricing lets a vendor price the buyer rather than the product, and it works because the buyer cannot compare. It suits a large investment-bank transaction where a deal team expects to negotiate. It suits an accountant with an Inland Revenue audit starting in three weeks far less, because they cannot budget, cannot compare and cannot start today. That is the gap published flat pricing fills.
See also
Explore ShareAndGo
What a VDR is & how ours works
Due diligence, audits & M&A
Honest 2026 comparison
What is logged about a visitor
Getting your documents back out
Claude or ChatGPT, reading in place
Free interactive template
Free trial, no credit card
Send confidential files with control
Audit trails, NDA gating, AI search
Flat monthly plans
Give auditors controlled, audited access
Teams, folder access, watermarking
Other comparisons
The enterprise VDR alternative
Data room controls and flat pricing
A data room vs cloud storage
Lower cost and self-serve
Self-serve signup
Transparent pricing
AI PII detection included
Flat pricing vs per-user seats
NDA gating, watermarks and Q&A
Data-room controls with no IT set-up
Per-recipient watermarks and NDA gating
AI-native, flat pricing
Flat pricing plus AI
A data room with AI
Flat pricing, built-in AI
M&A rooms, flat pricing
Use cases
By industry
No per-page surprises
Start free, no credit card. Flat NZD pricing, unlimited pages on paid plans, external recipients free on every paid plan.
Start Free Trial